Open Burning

OPEN BURNING GUIDE

Residents who want to open burn in the unincorporated areas of Horry County must adhere to the following guidelines, per Horry County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 20, Article IX, Section 20-451:

  • Under no circumstances can you burn household waste, including but limited to: treated wood, cardboard, paper, shingles or siding, wire, tires, insulation, plastic, oil, etc. For a full list of items that are prohibited, please visit SC DHEC’s website: https://scdhec.gov/environment/your-air/open-burning-is-it-legal
  • Any and all open burning must be conducted in accordance with all applicable federal, state and local laws and regulations.
  • No open burning shall be conducted which results in the creation of nuisance conditions, including undesirable levels of smoke.
  • Failure to find compliance with all applicable laws could result in an ordinance summons or fine.

****IF AN HORRY COUNTY BURNING BAN IS INITIATED, NO OPEN BURNING IS PERMITTED.****

HOW TO OPEN BURN IN YOUR YARD:

  • Notify South Carolina Forestry of your burn prior to burning, by calling 1-800-986-5404 in Horry County.
  • Area must be adequately cleared.
  • Only yard debris, including natural vegetation that originated on-site, firewood and clean, untreated, unfinished lumber can be burned. This includes leaves, tree branches or yard trimmings from the very property on which the open burning is occurring. You cannot burn: treated wood, cardboard, paper, shingles or siding, wire, tires, insulation, plastic, oil, etc. For a full list of items that are prohibited, please visit SC DHEC’s website: https://scdhec.gov/environment/your-air/open-burning-is-it-legal
  • The fire must be at least 50 feet from any structure and at least 50 feet from any other property line.
  • To burn, sufficient equipment and personnel are required to insure safety. The landowner must authorize any burning on their property. The fire must be supervised and under control prior to leaving the area.

HOW TO OPEN BURN WHEN CLEARING LAND:

  • Notify South Carolina Forestry of your burn prior to burning, by calling 1-800-986-5404 in Horry County.
  • Area must be adequately cleared.
  • Only yard debris, including natural vegetation that originated on-site, firewood and clean, untreated, unfinished lumber can be burned. This includes leaves, tree branches or yard trimmings from the very property on which the open burning is occurring. You cannot burn: treated wood, cardboard, paper, shingles or siding, wire, tires, insulation, plastic, oil, etc. For a full list of items that are prohibited, please visit SC DHEC’s website: https://scdhec.gov/environment/your-air/open-burning-is-it-legal
  • The fire must be at least 50 feet from any structure and at least 50 feet from any other property line.
  • To burn, sufficient equipment and personnel are required to insure safety. The landowner must authorize any burning on their property. The fire must be supervised and under control prior to leaving the area.
  • The area must not be predominantly residential.
  • The location of the burning must be 1,000 feet from public roadways or residential, commercial or industrial sites NOT on the property.
  • Smoke cannot significantly impact public roadways or residential, commercial or industrial sites.
  • Burned materials must have been generated on-site.
  • Only plant growth can be burned. The amount of dirt on burned materials should be minimized.
  • Initial burning must be started between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m., with no more combustible materials added between 3 p.m. and 9 a.m.
  • No more than two piles, 30 feet by 30 feet may be burned on a six-acre area at one time.
  • All salvageable timber and pulpwood must be removed.

HOW TO OPEN BURN CONSTRUCTION MATERIALS:

  • Notify South Carolina Forestry of your burn prior to burning, by calling 1-800-986-5404 in Horry County.
  • Area must be adequately cleared.
  • Only yard debris, including natural vegetation that originated on-site, firewood and clean, untreated, unfinished lumber can be burned. This includes leaves, tree branches or yard trimmings from the very property on which the open burning is occurring. You cannot burn: treated wood, cardboard, paper, shingles or siding, wire, tires, insulation, plastic, oil, etc. For a full list of items that are prohibited, please visit SC DHEC’s website: https://scdhec.gov/environment/your-air/open-burning-is-it-legal
  • The fire must be at least 50 feet from any structure and at least 50 feet from any other property line.
  • To burn, sufficient equipment and personnel are required to insure safety. The landowner must authorize any burning on their property. The fire must be supervised and under control prior to leaving the area.
  • Burning is only allowed for 1-2-family residential construction sites.
  • These open burns are not allowed from April 1-October 30.
  • Burning must only be conducted between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m.
  • There must be 500 feet between the burn and any other occupied structure not on the same property.

HOW TO OPEN BURN AGRICULTURALLY:

  • Notify South Carolina Forestry of your vegetative burn prior to burning, by calling 1-800-986-5404 in Horry County.
  • Area must be adequately cleared.
  • Only property debris, including natural vegetation that originated on-site, firewood and clean, untreated, unfinished lumber can be burned. This includes leaves, tree branches or yard trimmings from the very property on which the open burning is occurring. You cannot burn: treated wood, cardboard, paper, shingles or siding, wire, tires, insulation, plastic, oil, etc. For a full list of items that are prohibited, please visit SC DHEC’s website: https://scdhec.gov/environment/your-air/open-burning-is-it-legal
  • The fire must be at least 50 feet from any structure and at least 50 feet from any other property line.
  • To burn, sufficient equipment and personnel are required to insure safety. The landowner must authorize any burning on their property. The fire must be supervised and under control prior to leaving the area.
  • Smoke cannot significantly impact public roadways or residential, commercial or industrial sites and create nuisance conditions.

EXEMPTIONS

  • Any burning associated with food preparation for immediate consumption or any kind of recreational fire, including ceremonial occasions, human warmth, small campfires, outdoor fireplaces, heaters, grills, stoves, fire pits, chimeneas, woodstoves, etc., so long as these burnings are properly contained and monitored, performed in a safe manner and no nuisance conditions are created.
  • Any kind of fires set for the purpose of training public firefighting personnel when properly authorized by the appropriate governmental entity. Any fires set by private industry as part of an organized program of drills for the training of firefighting personnel.
  • Fires set by or at the direction of a public official in the performance of an official operation, function or duty.

If you believe someone is burning illegally, please call 911.

****IF AN HORRY COUNTY BURNING BAN IS INITIATED, NO OPEN BURNING IS PERMITTED.****