Horry County Fire Rescue is a combination career-volunteer organization which provides fire suppression, emergency medical services and response to all hazards in the unincorporated areas of Horry County.

Horry County covers more than 1,134 square miles. One of the largest tourist destinations in the country, Myrtle Beach, and the entire Grand Strand area is located within the County.

Staffing for the department consists of more than 350 full-time staff and more that 250 volunteers. The Department is split into four battalions geographically. The department provides Basic and Advanced Life Support ambulances throughout the county.  The County operates 40 stations between the career and volunteer staff.

Horry County Fire Rescue administration is located at the M.L. Brown Public Safety Complex in Conway. Horry County Fire Rescue shares the M.L Brown Public Safety Complex with the Public Safety Director, the Emergency Management Division, the Coroner’s Officer, and the Horry County Police Department.

Horry County operates a standalone Emergency 911 system located in the City of Conway.  911 answers all emergency calls for the entire county.  However, some municipalities dispatch their own units. These calls are transferred by the County 911 Center.

Specialty Teams within the organization include the Hazmat, Marine Rescue, Wildfire, Technical Rescue, Peer Support, and Honor Guard.

Horry County Fire Rescue provides “mutual aid” to areas within the municipalities of Horry County. These areas include the cities of Myrtle Beach, Conway, Surfside Beach, North Myrtle Beach and Loris. The Department can be requested by these departments within their jurisdiction. These departments also provide mutual aid to Horry County Fire Rescue.  Another area of mutual aid is to departments located in counties adjacent to Horry County. These departments include Fairbluff, NC, Tabor City, NC, Calabash, NC, Mullins, SC, Murrells Inlet, SC and Nichols, SC.